The Beauty of Words

There is much beauty found in the times of silence. Mornings, just as the sun is rising, before the hustle and bustle of the day begins. The first snow, when it feels like a soft blanket was quietly placed over everything in the middle of the night. Standing at the top of a mountain and looking out to a horizon that appears to never end.

Just as the most appropriate time and place for silence can create such beauty, the right moment for words can bring life, healing, and inspiration. Just as moments of silence ought to be cherished more often, moments to speak ought to be utilized more wisely. It is the times that we speak that allow for an opportunity to share with others what may later be forgotten or neglected in silence.

“I like not only to be loved, but also to be told that I am loved. I am not sure that you are of the same mind. But the realm of silence is large enough beyond the grave. This is the world of light and speech, and I shall take leave to tell you that you are very dear.”
George Eliot

Lately, I have been becoming more aware of my impeccable ability to forget the little things, the small details in life and relationships that, often times, are so important. As you may think, if something is important enough, of course I will make it my personal responsibility to remember. However, if you were to ask me what it felt like the first time I rode a bike or my first night in a college dorm 3,000 miles away from home, I would honestly be at a loss. Not because these weren’t important or life altering moments, but because I did not take the initiative to make sure these memories were preserved.

And how can memories be preserved? What is the best way to insure the experiences we have, the people we encounter, and the lessons we learn are not lost in the five million other tasks we must complete throughout the day? The best way I can think is through stories, through words.

Over the past few years I have had the amazing privilege of building friendships and memories that I believe have the ability to last a lifetime. They have taught me more about the world, my purpose, faith, and myself. Now I am faced with the responsibility to ensure these moments are remembered and I believe one way this can be accomplished is through sharing my stories with you. While this blog does not have a singular purpose, one goal is to create a space to cherish friendship and memories. And so, I hope you enjoy the many adventures, passions, and dreams my friends and I have built together.

“Friendship…is the instrument by which God reveals

to each the beauties of others.”

-C.S. Lewis

img_4341

img_4340-2

img_4342-2

img_4335-2

Leave a Reply

